Russell Becker honoured as part of BCCM 2021 Honour Roll


Former Director of Capricorn, Russell Becker has been added to the Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals 2021 Honour Roll.

The Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals have recognised the exceptional leadership of:

  • Bronwyn Morris AM, immediate past President of RACQ and current President of RACQ Foundation
  • Rowan Dowland, Chief Development Officer, Bank Australia
  • Russell Becker, Director, Capricorn Society (CSL)

The BCCM Honour Roll is a virtual ‘hall of fame’ recognising outstanding leaders of the cooperative and mutual sector and acknowledging their contributions to their industries.

BCCM CEO Melina Morrison said: “This is our opportunity to recognise outstanding service and dedication to the cooperative and mutual sector.”

“Resilience, endurance, integrity, compassion and assistance are all qualities that we acknowledge in our Honour Award recipients. Cooperative and mutuals leaders have called upon these qualities to help them serve the needs of their millions of Australian members during the pandemic,” said Morrison. “This year we welcome three more exceptional people who have translated their passion for cooperatives and mutuals into a lifetime dedication to the sector.”

Russell Becker served for 16 years as a Capricorn Board Member and four years as chair (2015-2019), of Capricorn Society (CSL), Australia’s largest automotive parts buying cooperative.

CSL operates across Australia and New Zealand and since joining the Board in 2005, Russell has seen membership expand from fewer than 10 thousand to almost 24 thousand in 2021, with Member purchases totalling $2.69 billion.

“All three recipients possess the sort of leadership qualities that make them most worthy inclusions on the Honour Roll,” said Morrison. “Their vision and dedication to the ideal of a democratically-run business serve not just their memberships but the broader communities in which they operate. Qualities called forth during this time of society-wide need.”

For more information on the Honour Roll and the other nominees, visit the BCCM website.

This article was published 07/12/2021 and the content is current as at the date of publication.